Girl with thoughts, beware.

Think. Write. Repeat.

My 2013 Book Challenge! Who’s with me?

I spend a lot of time reading books. In fact, I can’t remember a time in my life when I didn’t go to bed without reading a chapter or two, or setting aside a half hour or so to sit down with a good book. I’m the type to keep a spare book in my car in case I ever find myself stranded somewhere without something to do.

Lately I’ve been spending a large amount of time thinking about my love of books. My  Goodreads blog now contains a shelf called “Books That Changed Me”, which is devoted specifically to all those moments you read a novel and it sticks to you like glue long after it’s read, for whatever reason. I LOVE writing reviews about books that I’ve read. Now that I’m fully entrenched in Goodreads, I just can’t stop talking about books.

I’m definitely going through a “sharing” phase and if I can be responsible for ONE person falling in love with a book or discovering a new favorite author based on my suggestion, I couldn’t be happier.

As my “To Read” pile on Goodreads reached 50 titles, I stopped adding to it and made a vow. I will read every single book PLUS all the books to be read in the next 6 months for my regular physical book club meeting. In all, we are talking 55 books for 2013. I’ve read 8 so far.

My To Read list is an eclectic mix made up of friend suggestions, Goodreads recommendations, books I’ve always wanted to read but never got around to it, and a few “late night” additions reminiscent of my Netflix queue: beware of drinking a couple cocktails and then getting online around 2am (there were a few weeks where we kept getting really obscure independents and “steamy foreign romance” films in the mail). My list also includes several new authors and this is why a challenge like this is great for me because I tend to get unadventurous at times when it comes to exploring unfamiliar writers.

But I am determined to read AND review all of these books. Why? Because my soul needs to be shaken and stirred and literature has the power to do that to me. And I have this absolute need to share my love of books with everyone.

I invite you to befriend me on Goodreads to share and comment, however I will also start posting reviews here as well. AND, if you have a suggestion as to what I should read next in my pile let me know!

Without further ado, here is my challenge for 2013:

TO READ

I Was Blind But Now I See James Altucher
Are You There Vodka? It’s Me, Chelsea Chelsea Handler
Time and Again Jack Finney
City of Thieves David Benioff
Great Tales from English History: A Treasury of True Stories about the Extraordinary People — Knights and Knaves, Rebels and Heroes, Queens and Commoners — Who Made Britain Great Robert Lacey
The Night Circus Erin Morgenstern
The Wise Man’s Fear (The Kingkiller Chronicle, #2) Patrick Rothfuss
A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, #1) George R.R. Martin
How to Be a Domestic Goddess: Baking and the Art of Comfort Cooking Nigella Lawson
Water Music T.C. Boyle
Alone in the Kitchen with an Eggplant : Confessions of Cooking for One and Dining Alone Jenni Ferrari-Adler
Where Tigers Are at Home Jean-Marie Blas de Roblès
Restless William Boyd
Far to Go Alison Pick
Seek: Reports from the Edges of America and Beyond Denis Johnson
Bright Lights, Big City Jay McInerney
The Adventures of Augie March Saul Bellow
Requiem for a Dream Hubert Selby Jr.
For Whom the Bell Tolls Ernest Hemingway
Medium Raw: A Bloody Valentine to the World of Food and the People Who Cook Anthony Bourdain
The Golden Age of Cinema: Hollywood, 1929-1945 Richard Jewell
The Raven’s Seal Andrei Baltakmens
Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald Therese Anne Fowler
The Drunken Botanist: The Plants That Create the World’s Great Drinks Amy Stewart
Murder Below Montparnasse  (Aimee Leduc Investigations #13) Cara Black
Slaughterhouse-Five Kurt Vonnegut
The Alchemist Paulo Coelho
Not the End of the World Kate Atkinson
Human Croquet Kate Atkinson
Started Early, Took My Dog (Jackson Brodie, #4) Kate Atkinson
Life After Life Kate Atkinson
Quiet: The Power Of Introverts In A World That Can’t Stop Talking Susan Cain
Girl Walks into a Bar . . .: Comedy Calamities, Dating Disasters, and a Midlife Miracle Rachel Dratch
The Red House Mark Haddon
Boom! Mark Haddon
On Writing Stephen King
One Thousand White Women: The Journals of May Dodd Jim Fergus
The Time Machine H.G. Wells
11/22/63 Stephen King
Le Coeur D’une Autre Tatiana de Rosnay
Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter Seth Grahame-Smith
The Perks of Being a Wallflower Stephen Chbosky
My Mother Was Nuts Penny Marshall
Bohemian Paris: Picasso, Modigliani, Matisse and the Birth of Modern Art Dan Franck
Pope Joan Donna Woolfolk Cross
River of Darkness (John Madden, #1) Rennie Airth
Fraud: Essays David Rakoff
Light in August William Faulkner
The Partly Cloudy Patriot Sarah Vowell

PLUS 5 to be determined book club books.

CURRENTLY READING

Wolf Hall, Hilary Mantel

I am counting on you out there to keep me honest and motivated. I know I can do it!!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “My 2013 Book Challenge! Who’s with me?

  1. Great list. I’ve read Bright Lights, Big City and it’s a brilliant read. I’m doing the Penguin Readarama challenge to try to read a lot of my list of unread books I own. So hoping to read 52 this year. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

