Girl with thoughts, beware.

Think. Write. Repeat.

Slow Ride? No, Slow READ.

So this is interesting: Apparently we read too fast and e-books and electronics are partly to blame. It’s time to slow down, slow waaayy down and read. For pleasure!

An article in the Wall Street Journal talks about the benefits of slow reading. In fact, slow reading CLUBS (my kind of club!) are popping up all over the world. You turn off your electronics and sit in silence for 30min-1hour and read. That’s it.

I can think of nothing more pleasurable than to just sitting and reading a book. I’ve even pondered the idea that somewhere, somehow reading all day for fun could actually be a career. What about people who read manuscripts all day? I can do that, easily. And yet, I find myself getting distracted when I sit down to read.

Take today, for instance. I purposefully blocked out the whole day to do nothing other than read my book, watch a movie, write my blog- anything except clean or run errands, or any of the other “must dos” that seem to fill up my weekends these days. And sure enough, I found other things to do.

I’m that type of person who can shut down her phone all day and never feel tempted to check it. I’m not a super active Facebooker or Tweeter. I try to never get on the computer at home unless I absolutely have to. What distracts me is the feeling that I have to get through something. I’m not reading my book for pleasure, but I’m actively trying to finish it even as I’m enjoying it. I blame my reading challenges. Reading challenges have taken the fun and pleasure out of reading.

I’ve committed to reading 45 books this year, and I’m well on my at 34 completed. But I’m starting to feel the pressure to finish and that means I have to power through x number of books in 3 months. I know I can do it, but I find I’m speed reading a lot. I’m also choosing books that are only so many pages so I can cover more ground, though there are other longer and more complex books I would like to start now. But those would take up too much time.

Gone are the days when I would brew a large cup of tea and sit for a couple of hours on the couch or outside with my book. I work full-time now and weekends are taken up by other events and errands to run. I miss those days of idle reading. If slow reading and taking the time to really commit to a book is proven to lower stress and increase concentration, then I’ve got some catching up to do.

After all, who really cares if I complete my challenge or not? It’s quality not quantity that counts, right?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

